Federation, Components, Territory

Title I Federation, Components, Territory

Article 1: Federal State

Belgium is a Federal State made up of Communities and Regions.

Article 2: Communities

Belgium is made up of three Communities: the French Community, the Flemish Community, and the German-speaking Community.

Article 3: Regions

Belgium is made up of three Regions: the Walloon Region, the Flemish Region, and the Brussels Region.

Article 4: Linguistic Regions

1. Belgium has four linguistic regions: the French-speaking Region, the Dutch-speaking Region, the bilingual Region of Brussels-Capital, and the German-speaking Region.

2. Each commune of the Kingdom is part of one of these linguistic regions.

3. The limits of the four linguistic regions can only be changed or modified by a law adopted by majority vote in each linguistic group in each House, on the condition that the majority of the members of each group are gathered together and from the moment that the total of affirmative votes given by the two linguistic groups is equal to at least two thirds of the votes expressed.

Article 5: Provinces

1. The Walloon Region is made up of the following provinces: Walloon Brabant, Hainaut, Liege, Luxemburg, and Namur. The Flemish Region is made up of the following provinces: Antwerp, Flemish Brabant, West Flanders, East Flanders, and Limburg.

2. By law, the territory can be divided into a greater number of provinces, if necessary.

3. A law can shield certain territories whose limits it fixes, from division into provinces, make them depend directly on the federal executive power, and make them subject to a statute of their own. This law must be adopted by majority vote as provided for in Article 4, last paragraph

Article 6: Provincial Sub-Divisions

The provincial sub-divisions can only be established by law.

Article 7: Delimitation

The delimitation of the State, the provinces, and the communes can only be changed or modified by law.